our business!          


Traffic Safety
Community Safety
Occupational Safety
Court Referred




History of the Council
The St. Joseph Safety and Health Council began operations in January 1935 and is one of the veteran safety councils in the nation.  The Council was formed as a result of concerned citizens who gathered in response to rising traffic crashes, injuries and deaths within the city.  It was operated by volunteers until 1945 when it was reorganized with a paid staff.  In 1957, the Council was incorporated and became a member of the St. Joseph United Fund, Inc., now the United Way of Greater St. Joseph, Inc.    


The Council is a a community service organization, 501(c)3 non-profit organization and governed by a volunteer board of directors, comprised of local service agency representatives, business and industry leaders, and emergency service providers.  Although the agency primarily serves the greater St. Joseph area, some programs extend beyond the community and services are provided throughout northwest Missouri. 



Mission Statement
The St. Joseph Safety and Health Councilís mission is to promote a safe and healthy community through public awareness, education, and community services.



Vision Statement
To be the safest and healthiest community in the state of Missouri.



Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
The St. Joseph Safety and Health  Council is located in downtown St. Joseph in the lower level of the United Way Building.

Sheldon Lyon, Executive Director
Sheldon Lyon is the Executive Director of the Safety Council.  Prior to his employment he was a 29-year member of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, retiring in 2014.  He served the Patrol as a Public Information and Education officer for Troop H which covers the 15 counties of northwest Missouri.  Sheldon is a graduate of Central High School in St. Joseph and holds a bachelor's degree in criminal justice from Missouri Western State University.   During his time with Troop H, he served on the Safety Council's Board of Directors as the Vice President for Traffic Safety and is also a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician.  He is married to the former Christa Kavanaugh who is employed with the St. Joseph School District as the Special Education Department Chair at Central High School.  Their daughter Madison is attending MWSU nursing school and Macy is a student in the Savannah School District. 
Janice Carter, Office Manager  
Janice has been a member of the Safety Council staff since 1991.  After graduating from Kansas State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Family and Child Development, she taught at several Kansas City area preschools. In 1977, she and her family moved to St. Joseph where she became very active in PTA, serving as President of the St. Joseph Area PTA Council and as a committee chair on the Missouri PTA State Board. Janice has a long association with the Council having served on its Safety Town Committee and Board of Directors prior to her employment. As a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician, she is able to assist individuals with the proper installation of child safety seats.  She is responsible for coordinating the Safety Town and Safety Acres programs, as well as, serves as the Council's bookkeeper.

Phil DeLong, Court Services Administrator 

Phil joined the Safety Council in April 2009 as the Administrator of Court Services and Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP) Administrator.  Prior to this he worked part-time for the agency's SATOP program, a program he has worked with since its inception in 1994.  Phil's current responsibilities include coordinating the Offender Management Unit (OMU), the Offender Education Program (OEP) and the Weekend Intervention Program (WIP).  Phil has worked in the criminal justice system for three decades, and is responsible for administering the agency's Probation Services for several regional court systems.  He earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice with an emphasis in Corrections, and a minor in Psychology from Southeast Missouri State University.

Sue Lober, Traffic Safety Coordinator
Sue joined the Safety Council in March of 2013 as the Traffic Safety Coordinator.  She comes to the Council with 28 years of experience in teaching and coordinating health and safety programs in the St. Joseph community and throughout Northwest Missouri and Northeast Kansas. Her responsibility is to coordinate and administer all functions related to the community-wide Traffic Safety Task Force activities and events including the Driver Improvement Program and Alive at 25 classes.  Sue became a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician in May of this year.  She has a Bachelor of Science degree in Recreation Administration from Missouri Western State University.     
Part-time Staff Members
Dianna Tipton, Instructor, Driver Improvement Program, Alive @ 25, Adult Stealing
Dora Ham, SATOP WIP Counselor/Security
Cindy Miller, SATOP WIP Counselor/Security
Johnny Graves, SATOP WIP Counselor
Caroline Flanagan, SATOP Security
Executive Committee
Bob Vey, President
Bridget Supple, First Vice President
Ernie Nold, Vice President for Occupational
Carla Scheidegger, Vice President for Community
Sarah Hardin, Vice President for Traffic
Jon Allen, Secretary/Treasurer
Brint Connett, Past President
Jon Allen, Retired
Sgt. Jake Angle, Public Information Officer, Missouri State Highway Patrol
Debra Bradley, Director of Health, City of St. Joseph Health Department
Bill Brinton, Director, Emergency Management Director
Kent Brooner, President, Brooner Construction and Crane
Brint Connett, Quality Assurance Manager, BMS Logistics
Maureen Cornelius, Safety Manager, Nestle-Purina
Mike Dalsing, Chief, St. Joseph Fire Department
Rebecca Evans, Director, Small Business & Technology Development Center
Sgt. Greg Gilpin, St. Joseph Police Department
Deputy Sarah Hardin, Buchanan County Sheriff's Department
John Hickman, Owner, MyGrid Labs
Benjamin Leimkuhler, St. Joseph News-Press & Gazette
Linda Obermier, Manager, Alpha Staffing
Carla Scheidegger, RN, BSN, Trauma Program Manager, Heartland Health
Lynette Saxton, Community Volunteer
Ken Siemens, Attorney at Law 
Greg Smith, Manager, American Electric
Bridget Supple, Executive Director, The Inter Serv Foundation
Bob Vey, Risk Manager, Hillyard Industries
Pat O'Connor, Owner, O'Connor Safety (ex officio, MESA Liaison)

About Us | Donations | Contact Us | Home | Site Map

Community Safety | Traffic Safety | Occupational Safety | Court Referred

St. Joseph Safety and Health Council | 118 S. 5th St. | St. Joseph, MO 64501 | Tele: (816) 233-3330 | Fax: (816)  233-8343

Copyright © 2010 St. Joseph Safety & Health Council.  All rights reserved.